Twitter bird logo

Most teachers want their students to be excellent. But what does that mean? Unfortunately, many teachers and schools today have a limited understanding of "excellence" as academic performance. At Cardus, we are committed to teachers who have a more robust sense of excellence that includes but also goes beyond performance and towards nurturing student character, engaging the local community, and improving school culture.

2017 Awards: The Shortlists

Listed alphabetically by school name.
Posted: April 6, 2017


  • Timothy Christian School, Etobicoke, Barbara Ubbens
  • Dunnville Christian School, Margaret Kamping


  • Chatham Christian School, Anneke Gretton
  • Hamilton District Christian High, Owen Webb


  • Unity Christian High School, Jeff Weening and Kim Furtney
  • Orillia Christian School, Marianne Frielink, Curtis Dulmage, Yvonne Buck, Kathy Brown, Rhonda Dykxhoorn, and Danae Yeboah
  • Strathroy Community Christian School, Joan Alexander, Shelley Berg, Natalie DeSchiffert, Jeanette Dykstra, Stephanie Gowan, Susan Noordermeer, Julie Reitsma, Diane Schelhaas, Stephanie Tiffin, Jennifer VanMinnen, Jean Verburg, and Kim Winia


  • Trinity Christian School, Leanne Bulthuis
  • Woodland Christian High School, David Graham
  • Sarnia Christian School, Mary Abma
  • Smithville Christian High School, Gord Park
  • Toronto District Christian High, Richard Peters
  • King's Christian Collegiate, Timothy Veenstra
  • Kingston Christian School, Ruth Giffin

The award winners will be announced at a reception June 8, 2017 at the Royal Botanical Gardens, Burlington, Ontario. Click here to register for the reception (free). All those on the shortlist together with their school Principal and/or board representative will be invited to attend the reception where the awards will be presented.


The John Rozema Teaching Excellence Award recognises excellence as an ongoing investment into the life of a Christian school community and a positive public contribution to the common good. Being shortlisted for the John Rozema Teaching Excellence Award is an indication of a particular educator or school community's reputation for giftedness and excellent practice.

The award panel will look for evidence that a teacher demonstrates excellence in all of the following categories:

  1. Purpose in teaching and learning
  2. Rigour in teaching and learning
  3. Service in teaching and learning


In 2017 four awards are available:

  • Group Excellence Award: a group award of up to $8,000. This award is to be divided equally between team members. If team members teach in different institutions, the award must be shared equally between schools.
  • Excellence in Elementary Teaching Award: an individual award of $5,000.
  • Excellence in Secondary Teaching Award: an individual award of $5,000.
  • Excellence in the Teaching of Creative and Performing Arts: an individual award of $5,000.

Instructions for Nominations

Nominations for 2017 are now closed.

(Download the nomination package for full details.)

The Inaugural 2016 Awards

Take a look at our 2016 shortlist for examples of award winning excellence. Get inspired!

Winners of the inaugural 2016 Awards:

Kasia Konstanty, Eric Brink, Richie VanderWier, Jonathan Devries, and Harry Blyleven, from Hamilton District Christian High School, were presented the group award.

Lisa Eelkema, of Laurentian Hills Christian School, won the elementary teaching award.

David Robinson, of Toronto District Christian High School, took home the secondary school award.

Deadlines and Announcements

Nominations for 2017 are now closed.

All submissions are considered final. Cardus does not comment on drafts or provide individual guidance to nominees.

Dates for shortlist announcements and award announcements will be made available at a later date.

At the 2016 Edifide conference, we honoured the inagural recipients of the John Rozema Teaching Excellence Award

Reading List

Cardus's periodicals regularly
touch on education: